Castle of Illusion (Mega Drive) — I was so close…!

Gave Hard mode another shot, and had a really good run at first: several close shaves, but ultimately no deaths in the first three levels.

Come level 4, and I realize that just walking past the “A”s is a viable and safe strategy, after all. I even managed to beat the boss this time, although I feel like that was mostly a case of dumb luck. Throwing apples at it helped speed things up, and I’m glad I didn’t miss any shots, but I also went in with four units of life. If I’d died on my first attempt, I don’t think I would’ve made it past.

Level 5 is, surprisingly enough, not that much different. Less items scattered about, more bats, the usual, but they didn’t get in the way as much as they could’ve, and the boss fight itself was still very straightforward.

And then came the final boss, who should’ve been a pushover, but when you only get two hits per life and the boss can take way more than she ought to, the pressure very much adds up… and the iffy collision detection on the ghosts (fireballs?) didn’t help, either, as I would arbitrarily take damage even if I butt-bounced off of them.

I ran out of lives, then ragequit on my last life when I took a hit before the fight even started.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started